Walcott Misses Out Again!

England Manager Fabio Capello announced his final 23 man squad for the World cup finals in South Africa, which starts on 11th June 2010.  The biggest talking point is the omission of Theo Walcott, the player who was famously selected four years ago at only 17 years old.

Others that miss out are Darren Bent, Adam Johnson, Scott Parker, Michael Dawson, Leighton Baines and Tom Huddlestone.

I thought Theo Walcott would be picked with his pace, skill, the desire and the hunger having not played a single game after being selected by former England boss Sven-Goran Eriksson’s 2006 World Cup squad.

Here are the final 23.

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), David James (Portsmouth), Robert Green (West Ham).

Defenders: Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Ledley King (Tottenham), John Terry (Chelsea), Jamie Carragher (Liverpool), Matthew Upson (West Ham), Ledley King (Tottenham), Stephen Warnock (Aston Villa).

Midfielders: Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Joe Cole (Chelsea), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Gareth Barry (Manchester City), Aaron Lennon (Tottenham), James Milner (Aston Villa), Shaun Wright-Phillips (Manchester City), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool).

Strikers: Peter Crouch (Tottenham), Jermain Defoe (Tottenham), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Emile Heskey (Aston Villa).

The other thing that surprises me is the selection of Emile Heskey.  Mr Capello has selected a player that missed a sitter in the final warm up game against Japan, I know it was just a friendly but it still had to be put away, I hope he doesn’t do that when it matters.

What do make of the final 23? Are there any players you think should have been included? And what do you think of Theo Walcott’s omission?

Written by:

- who has written 91 posts on TaraMagazine.com.

Contact the author